High Sierra mac OS (public beta)

It took a while but I finally got the public beta installed (build 17a306f) on my Mac book pro (early 2015 model).  I had issues getting the installer to download but I think that was due to local WI-FI issue rather then anything to do with apple.

high s

Once I had the installer it took 4 goes to get it installed.  It stopped 3 time in different spots (6 days, 4 min and 15 min to go) before it finally installed.  Including all the restarts it took 6 hours or so to complete the 1st step. I did tick the set-up new file system option during the install so it might have been the issue.  I’m so impressed that it even worked at all.  Changing the file system on the fly while doing an OS update is an impressive feat.

After the reboot it took other 1 1/2 hour to complete the install.  The 1st thing that i noticed was that now you can’t have the same password for your iCloud account and your PC log in.  So far all my apps are working fine including Office 365 (2016) however the messages don’t not want to sync with my iCloud account.

To test the new file system I have duplicated a folder with about 1000 files (20 meg) and it took about 2 seconds which was faster then my Win10 system (Dell also with an SSD) but only by 1 second or so. However deleting the folder was much faster on the HS system then on windows.  I then tested a 511 meg folder to see if that made a bigger difference and this time the Mac OS trounced the windows system by 40 seconds -wow just wow.

The new Photo app looks like a big improvement but I will have to play with it some more before I give my finale verdict.

I will test for the next week and update.

Leave a Reply

